Meet my bluebirds

This blog will chronicle the 2011 nesting season of a pair of Eastern Bluebirds that live in and around my back yard in Norman, OK. They nested here last year and raised two broods. I began a photo diary of their nesting and called it The Bluebird Diary. I sent it to friends as the season progressed and the Oklahoma Master Naturalists included it in their Naturalist’s Notebook. This year I’ll keep a journal on this blog.

We just call them Mama and Daddy. That’s Mama on the left. I feed them mealworms every morning. They know me well and can differentiate me from other people. Daddy can be a quarter-mile away, see me outside and he comes immediately.  Mama comes too, but she is not as bold as Daddy.  When I place worms in their feeder he hops on with me standing right there.  Mama is not quite that brave, but I can back off a few feet and she will feed. These birds are like family  and start my days with  a cheerful song and burst of color.  I hope you enjoy their antics as much as my wife Carolyn and I do.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet my bluebirds

  1. Lindell and Carolyn,
    Thanks so much for including me in your Bluebird Diary mailout. I love to watch birds, and your pictures are beautiful. I look forward to seeing future blogs.

    Judy

  2. Hi Lindell, What a super blog you have. I will certainly add this fine blog to my blog roll on my own nature & wildlife blog. I live in Cumberland County, TN on a medium-sized private community lake. We are in a mixed hardwood forest that rings our residential shoreline. We have a lot of birds, small animals, and waterfowl. Glad to read your blog. I’ll be a regular!

Leave a Reply

