Five is a good number

Mama isn’t a spring chicken anymore and doesn’t seem to be an early morning bird. I can identify with that. I’ve read  most bluebird eggs are laid the first two hours after daylight, but  Mama’s efforts have come from mid-morning to noon. Just about noon today she laid her fifth egg.  I’m still guessing there may be another.

I went out to check  at 11:30 and she was still in the box.  About noon I looked out the window and saw her sitting on the box. Her chest was puffed out and she was standing tall.  I told Carolyn that Mama looks so proud of herself, I’m sure she has laid another egg.  Those who have lived on the farm can recall how proud the cackling hens were when they laid an egg.  Same deal.

The bluebirds know me well and don’t dive at me when I open the box, but they are concerned. Daddy is bolder and stays close watching me. Mama is not quite so brave and watches from afar.  As soon as I leave, they fly to the box to look in and make sure their precious eggs are alright. This is Daddy watching me.

Click on photos to enlarge.

Summary:

  • 14 March First sign of nest-building
  • 16 March Nest completed
  • 20 March First egg laid
  • 22 March Second egg laid
  • 23 March Third egg laid
  • 24 March Fourth egg laid
  • 25 March Fifth egg laid
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five is a good number

  1. That’s a beautiful picture of the eggs. I’m going to post it on my Facebook page. Of course, I’ll give you credit for the picture. Thanks!

  2. lindell dillon says:

    Share the joy, Judy. Bluebirds make people happy! At least they do me.

  3. Hi Lindell, That is superb! I am amazed at how those little birds can lay such a clutch of eggs. Have a great Sunday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

