Babies on day eight

Yesterday was one of the windiest spring days I’ve experienced.  Winds reached speeds up to 67 mph in the afternoon in the back-spin of a huge spring storm as it moved to the east. Conditions were difficult for all the birds in the yard. I looked out in late afternoon and saw both of the bluebirds on the feeder. I took that as a sign they had not caught enough bugs and were needing some food for the babies. I took out some mealworms and both of them immediately jumped on the feeder and grabbed a mouthful.

This morning is much nicer, though a little cool. I opened the box for some pics and couldn’t arouse the babies. I cheeped and nobody took the bait. I poked them and cheeped and they just refused to wake up. I had already put out mealworms, so I guess they have full bellies and are content.  The babies continue to grow and mature. Their beaks are getting harder and pin feathers are coming in. Compare today’s pics to the first ones and look at the difference.

A pair of Scissor-tail Flycatchers is also hunting bugs in the field behind the house. The bluebirds don’t mind, so long as they don’t try to use the nest box as a bugging perch. Some other new birds include Barn Swallows and Purple Martins.  I saw a circling Swainson’s hawk the other day after Daddy tipped me to his presence by turning his head sideways so he can get a better overhead view. I’ve also seen lots of dragon flies the past few days, so I’m looking forward to my first Mississippi Kite of the season. They usually appear when the dragon flies hatch.  Thankfully, I’ve not seen the Sharp-shinned Hawk that was terrorizing the bluebirds a couple of weeks ago.

Summary:

  • 14 March First sign of nest-building
  • 16 March Nest completed
  • 20 March First egg laid
  • 22 March Second egg laid
  • 23 March Third egg laid
  • 24 March Fourth egg laid
  • 25 March Fifth egg laid
  • 08 April first 3 eggs hatch


About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Babies on day eight

  1. I really enjoy reading your posts about various birds – how’d you get so smart?

Leave a Reply

