An update

I didn’t see Mama and Daddy all day after the babies fledged yesterday morning.   While we were eating dinner I looked out and saw the oriole on the feeder in the back yard. I jumped up to grab my camera and try to get some quick shots through the window.  I looked out just in time to see Daddy in full attack mode chasing the beautiful oriole away.  Then he proceeded to rid his yard of some interloping starlings and cowbirds that had moved in during his brief absence. No doubt about it, Daddy is the cock o’ the walk in this yard.  He checked the box several times as if he was making sure no one was left behind.

I put out some mealworms and attempted to follow the adults to the babies, but no luck. They flew some distance down the creek and went into some trees on the other side.  I can’t get across the creek now, so gave up, hoping I’ll see the babies again at some point.

After a week of no sunshine, we had some golden light late in the day and Mama has never looked more colorful when she came to the feeder. Daddy is always in his ‘dress blues’, even when he is in combat. He’s quite the dapper little warrior.

Click on photos to enlarge.

I tried to find the babies again this morning. This time I positioned myself down on the creek and called Carolyn so she could put out mealworms to a waiting Daddy. Foiled again!  He flew into the trees about 50 yards east of my location.  I watched for some time, but couldn’t locate the fledglings. I saw three birds chasing a squirrel and put my binocs on them to confirm my suspicion. Yep. It was Daddy on the squirrel’s butt with Mama and a chickadee giving him close support.  That indicated to me the babies were nearby, but still no luck in locating them.

While I was photographing the birds last evening a pair of Black-chinned Hummingbirds were buzzing around the back yard.  I was preoccupied with finding the babies, but got a quick shot of the female on our coral honeysuckle. I suspect they will nest nearby, but I have never found a hummingbird’s nest.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An update

  1. Hi Lindell, So sorry about the empty nest syndrome. We do get attached. The daddy Bluebird is a great protector for his family, isn’t he? The pictures you have taken are excellent. Have an outstanding day!

Leave a Reply

