Caught by surpise

Carolyn and I returned home from Branson late yesterday afternoon. Not long after we arrived Daddy was on the mealworm feeder at the edge of the patio.  I took him out some worms. He ate a couple, gathered up a mouthful and headed for the creek. Same thing this morning.

After mowing the lawn this morning and catching up on some chores, I planned to remove the old nest in the box and give it a thorough cleaning. While mowing, I spooked Mama out of the house.  I thought it unusual for her to be in there at mid-morning, but didn’t give it much thought. After a quick shower, I decided to grab the camera and see if I could get a pic of the mockingbirds that are building a nest in the honeysuckle right next to our back door. I noticed Mama peeking out of the box and decided to investigate.

To my surprise, the bluebirds have done a remodel and cleanup themselves. And inside the refurbished nest is a single little blue egg!  These birds don’t mess around when it comes procreation.  Last year I didn’t see any signs of a second nest building until 25 May and the first egg wasn’t laid until 31 May.

I’m hoping that the mockingbirds nesting so close to the feeder and nest box don’t cause a problem. I may have to put on a striped shirt and get a whistle! Both these species are very protective of their nesting territory.

We saw lots of beautiful birds in Missouri. Summer Tanagers, Indigos, Swainson’s Thrushes, Cerulean Warblers, catbirds, various vireos and the usuals. I got the closest I’ve ever been to the shy Green Heron. In fact, the only time I’ve been able to get close enough to get a decent pic. I’ll be posting some on my photoblog, reddirtpics. Check them out at http://reddirtpics.wordpress.com/2011/  

One of the tanagers. Click to enlarge.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Caught by surpise

  1. Swampy says:

    So, Daddy’s still feeing the fledglings and Mamma’s laying more eggs? That’s some production line.

    I checked out your other photos as well. Beautiful. Like the commentary as well.

  2. kateri says:

    Neat surprise! Will be following along as you document the new brood.

  3. lindell dillon says:

    Thanks kateri! It’s rewarding to know people enjoy these birds as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

