Incubating again

Mama is incubating again.  She spends a lot of time inside the box.  I always announce my presence if I’m approaching when there is a possibility she is inside. Yesterday, I spoke as I neared the box, tapped on the side and then opened the door. Mama was still sitting on the eggs.  I quickly closed the door and left her with her alone with her eggs.

Click photos to enlarge.

Day before yesterday we had a major bruhaha with the mockingbirds. Daddy had brought the juvies to the yard and I put out some worms.  The male mocker saw the worms and became really aggressive. He is a much bigger and tougher bird than Daddy and  immediately launched an aerial attack on the whole family.   Daddy hasn’t brought the juvies back since– or they haven’t had the nerve to come back.  I moved the feeder around a corner and out of the site of the mockingbirds. I now wait until Daddy is present to put out worms and remain outside until he and Mama eat and take worms to the young.

This morning I decided to check the mockingbird nest. I can barely see inside, but managed to get some pics by holding my little Nikon above the nest and shooting blindly. While I was able to get a pic of the speckled eggs,  it was difficult to concentrate on photography while you’re being slapped on the head by angry mockingbirds. These guys are going to have to calm down and realize this is my back yard, not theirs.

Second brood summary:

  • 07 May  First egg laid
  • 08 May  Second egg laid
  • 09 May  Third egg laid
  • 14 May   Incubation began
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Incubating again

  1. I was worried about more mockingbird trouble! Let’s hope things settle out between everyone.

  2. You’re a brave soul to tangle with a mockingbird!

Leave a Reply

