Here we go again…

The mockingbird babies have fledged and are hiding in bushes around the house.  The parents continue to protect them and bring them bugs.  We had a bad storm the other night with big hail and 100 mph winds.  I was worried that the baby bluebirds and mockers might not survive.

One mockingbird baby returned to the honeysuckle where its nest is.

I found one of the young mockers lying in the front yard.  It was badly beaten up and couldn’t stand.  I picked it up and was able to get the attention of the male mockingbird.  I placed it in a dry protected spot under a bush and checked on it the next morning.  I really expected to find it dead, but it was sitting up and taking food from the parents.

I haven’t seen the baby bluebirds since they fledged, so their fate is unknown.  Daddy hasn’t been taking many worms recently, so that is not a good sign.  I’m still hopeful they will show up some morning with Mama and Daddy, but they might not have survived the storm.

Yesterday afternoon we noticed that Mama is carrying grass into the nest box. Maybe a third brood is in the cards.  I’m sitting on the patio this morning and both the bluebirds have come down within a few feet of me for a breakfast of mealworms.  Mama is carrying in grass again this morning.   Daddy is a fierce protector and a great bug catcher, but he isn’t much of a nest builder.  I haven’t seen him bring in anything.  He sits on the house singing and once when he peered inside, he removed a large piece of grass.  I’ve seen him do this before, I’m not sure what is up with that.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus and board member Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here we go again…

  1. That was quite a storm…about the closest we’ve come to a tornado, I think.

  2. Swampy says:

    Good work on saving the baby mockingbird. Birds lives are so fraught with danger.

  3. Storms indeed are a risk in the weeks that nestlings are relatively helpless. Another bluebird brood coming up!

Leave a comment