Incubating in the heat

After I’ve been home and observed Mama for a few days, I believe she began incubating on 05 August.  She has spent most of the days inside the box in these intolerable temperatures.  She is out there with her head at the entrance of the box as I type and the temperature is 104 degrees.  I can’t imagine how uncomfortable she must be.  I don’t have much hope these eggs will hatch. Bluebird eggs normally hatch in 12-14 days and I’m not going to let these go much beyond that until I remove them.

I almost feel like removing the nest and eggs now for Mama’s sake, but I think it is generally best not to interfere in Nature’s course. She’d probably just start another, anyway. The bluebirds are coming to the mealworm feeder in the mornings now.  Both of them look rough.  They are molting and the heat is taking it’s toll on them.  I think the bluebirds and most everyone else in Oklahoma are ready for this heat wave to end.

I haven’t mentioned the mockingbirds since we’ve been back.  As expected the babies have left the nest, but unexpectedly I haven’t seen a juvie in the yard.  The last ones hung around close for quite some time.  I haven’t even seen one of the adults in the yard.

A pic of Mama taken yesterday.

Click on photos to enlarge.

Fourth brood summary:

  • Dates for nest building unknown
  • First egg laid                                       ~01 August
  • Second egg laid                                   ~03 August
  • Incubation began                                  05 August
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Bluebirds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

