Heat takes its toll

I expect this record heat wave in Oklahoma and Texas has taken a toll on most wildlife this summer.  It has certainly affected the bluebirds’ nesting efforts.  I removed the nest and eggs yesterday.  I think Mama would continue to sit on her eggs til Hell freezes over. I checked the egg contents and neither had formed an embryo.

I haven’t seen Daddy in 3 or 4 days and that is unusual.  I always get worried that a hawk may have gotten him if he goes AWOL for a day or two.  Mama had a good breakfast of mealworms this morning by herself.  I’ve watched her check out the nest box a few times.  She seems a little puzzled that her nest and eggs have disappeared.   It’s over 100 degrees today and 100’s out as far as the forecast goes.  At least she is out of that super-heated box.  Surely they won’t attempt another nesting this summer.

Fourth brood summary:

  • Dates for nest building unknown
  • First egg laid                                       ~01 August
  • Second egg laid                                   ~03 August
  • Incubation began                                  05 August
  • Nest and eggs removed                        21 August
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heat takes its toll

  1. subirdia says:

    Oh I am so glad I found your blog – I am interested in blues and had two clutches this past spring-summer…I find myself missing them – they do not come to my yard if they are not nesting….I’ll visit!

Leave a Reply

