FINALLY!!!

Just returned home after a couple of weeks in Texas.  As soon as I got the car unloaded I made an inspection of the yard and the bluebird box.  I was pleasantly surprised by a completed nest with one pretty cobalt blue egg inside.  Mama sure took her time getting this year’s production started.  Unfortunately, we are only here for a couple of nights before we leave on a trip for the Smoky Mountains.  That will put a crimp in the reporting of the egg laying and incubation.

If we assume Mama laid the first egg this morning, lays 4 eggs and 13 days for incubation, that means we have baby bluebirds hatching around 27 May.  We will be back in time for lots of baby pics.  The mockingbirds had a nest a couple of weeks ago when we left.  They chose the Live Oak in the front yard this year which puts their nest and the bluebirds’ out of sight of each other.  That’s good.  I won’t have to referee territorial disputes this year.

The flowers really came to life while we were gone.  The field behind the house was full of wildflowers and butterflies when we left, but it has been mowed and butterflies are all over our Butterfly Bushes and flowers now.  Our hydrangeas are blooming and gorgeous!  The Tropical Milkweed I planted from seed has sprouted and I also planted some Butterfly Weed and Swamp Milkweed, so the Monarch caterpillars will have plenty of grazing this year.

Mama checking the nest.

When we return from the Smokies, hopefully with some good pics of bear cubs, I have a couple of projects on my agenda.  First is macro photography.  I need to get some equipment and there will be a learning curve, but I hope to get some bug pics that will let you count their whiskers. I’m also starting another blog that won’t be dependent on bluebird activity.  I have a framework built on WordPress and it will be called Oklahoma Nature Blog.  It will feature Sooner species of flora and fauna with my photography, but also include current nature events and festivals and photography of other nature lovers.

Rest assured, I’ll post quickly on what’s going on in the bluebird box as soon as we get back from Tennessee.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FINALLY!!!

  1. Rose Marie B says:

    Lindell,

    So happy to see the first egg, I was a little worried for this year. 🙂 I’m very jealous of your trip to East Tennessee…spent many a summer vacation at my grandparents’ house in Oak Ridge. Don’t miss Cade’s Cove at dawn for lots of gorgeous deer opportunities. Have a safe trip!

  2. I look forward to your new blog…count me in.

Leave a Reply

