Daddy comes home

I’ve been out of state for the most of September so I haven’t had an opportunity to do much observation here.  I haven’t seen the bluebirds since the first week in August.  Around the end of August I saw an adult bluebird with three juveniles sitting on a neighbor’s

Photo of Daddy back in July.

house.  I went inside to get my camera and binoculars, but when I came back out the birds were gone, not to be seen again.  I’d had reports from another neighbor on the creek that she’d seen some juve bluebirds. I helped her put up a box two years ago, but she’s had no takers yet. Makes me wonder if Daddy and his new mate moved to the shaded creek bottom and raised another brood.

Yesterday I looked out the back window and saw Daddy sitting in the back yard.  You might ask how I know it was him since one male bluebird looks pretty much like another.  Well, Daddy has a favorite perch he likes.  He sits on the same limb in exactly the same spot to survey his territory and that is where this bird was perched.  I took some mealworms out, but Daddy immediately flew away when I opened the door.  He landed in sight and clearly could have seen me put the worms in his feeder, but never came for them.  A bit of a mystery since he is normally right on the worms.

Later in the afternoon I looked out to see Daddy sitting on the nestbox.  I didn’t see a female with him either time, which is also a mystery because bluebird pairs normally stay pretty close together.  At any rate it was encouraging to see Daddy again, kind of like seeing an old friend you had lost contact with.  I have no idea if this bird is back permanently or has staked out a new territory nearby and just gave us a random visit.  I guess time will tell.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daddy comes home

  1. Kimberly Roulet says:

    Glad you got to see Daddy!

  2. lindell dillon says:

    Check out the photo of the female that showed up on the box today http://www.flickr.com/photos/reddirtpics/8040518665/in/photostream

  3. lindell dillon says:

    This mystery continues. Yesterday while we were preparing dinner I looked out to see a pair of bluebirds in the back yard. The male was sitting on the box and the female on the staff of a bird feeder. Since this back yard has been Daddy’s home base for over four years, the male is most likely him, but I can’t say for certain until I observe his habits more.

Leave a Reply

