Last peek before they fledge …

IMG_3551 ld“Birds fly over the rainbow, Why then – oh, why can’t I? If happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow why, oh why, can’t I.”  Lyman Frank Baum.

We’ve been on a short trip and I didn’t get to photo the babies for a few days.  They have really grown since their last pic.  I usually don’t open the box after thirteen days and this morning is the fourteenth day, but I was careful and slow and the babies allowed me to photograph them without spooking.  They were awake and alert and just stared at me, frozen like statues.

Click photos to enlarge.

I put out worms for the parents to feed the babies so they would at least have a full belly and hopefully a little lethargic after a big meal.  Mama II and Daddy II seemed happy to see the ‘worm man’ this morning.  Even the shy Mama came to the feeder with me sitting just a few feet away.  Daddy will gather a mouthful of worms and take them right to the young, but Mama is not so bold.  She gathers a mouthful and flies to her perch, where she sits with them until I go inside.  Neither parent fusses when I open the box, they don’t seem concerned that I am going to harm their babies.  Daddy was very talkative this morning and even gave me some wing waves.

Time to just be patient and wait for the big moment now.  I can’t believe these babies are IMG_3538 ldalmost ready to fledge.  They should make their leap into the great big world around 25 April.  I hope I get to witness it.

Daddy delivers a mouthful of worms to the babies.

I just posted some photos of a trip to southeastern Oklahoma, including some of Oklahoma alligators  http://www.flickr.com/photos/reddirtpics/ 

First Brood Summary

  • First sign of nest building                09 March
  • Nest completed                                   15 March
  • First egg laid                                       18 March
  • Second egg laid                                  19 March
  • Third egg laid                                     20 March
  • Fourth egg laid                                   21 March
  • Fifth egg laid                                       22 March
  • Incubation begins                              25 March
  • Four eggs hatch                                  08 April
  • Removed unhatched egg                  11 April
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Bluebirds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last peek before they fledge …

  1. Velva says:

    I have three babies! I peeked into the nest. Mama built the nest high-it made it difficult to to snap a photo without spooking the babies.

    • lindell dillon says:

      That’s great you have babies! They will soon fill the nest and overflow. Remember not to open the box after 13 days.

  2. lindell dillon says:

    Babies are peering out the entrance today. A sign that they are getting close to fledging.

  3. Connie Wilson says:

    Could you email me specifics of Sparrow control? Was the millet baited? If so, how did you prevent other birds from eating it! We’re new at this. We were honored by a pair of bluebirds building a nest in my husbands engine hoist…just outside his shop. We were surprised they built so close to humans!

Leave a Reply

