They are gone …

IMG_3685 ldAt 8:23 this morning the last bluebird baby leaped into the big wide world.   They were right on time, fledging on the seventeenth day after their hatch.  I’d watched some this morning and decided to make myself a breakfast shake and work out.  In the middle of my shake Carolyn called to me that one of the babies had it’s head out of the box quite far.

I grabbed my camera and opened the bedroom door to get a clear shot of the box.  I could tell this baby was going to bail.  It was calling loudly and I could hear one of the parents calling back.  After about a half-dozen false starts, it jumped and immediately knew how to use those untested wings.  What I didn’t know was if this was the first or last or somewhere in between to fledge.  It turned out to be the last one.  Wish I’d seen them all and I might have been able to get a good in-flight shot. Like I often say, bluebird babies aren’t babies long.

It appears that the parents have them down on the creek.  It’s lined with mature pecan IMG_3689 ldtrees that are 70-feet or so tall.  The parents will continue to feed them for a couple of weeks.  I expect they are all huddled together right now.  When the bluebirds come for worms, I’ll attempt to watch where they fly with a mouthful to locate the babies.  I think this is the thirteenth brood of bluebirds we’ve put on this hill and it feels good to get off a successful hatch.

The fourth baby peers out of the box just prior to fledging.  Click to enlarge.

IMG_3697 ld

Visit my flickr stream to see more nature pics http://www.flickr.com/photos/reddirtpics/ 

First Brood Summary:

  • First sign of nest building                09 March
  • Nest completed                                   15 March
  • First egg laid                                       18 March
  • Second egg laid                                  19 March
  • Third egg laid                                     20 March
  • Fourth egg laid                                   21 March
  • Fifth egg laid                                       22 March
  • Incubation begins                              25 March
  • Four eggs hatch                                  08 April
  • Removed unhatched egg                  11 April
  • Babies fledge                                       25 April
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Bluebirds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to They are gone …

  1. Rose Marie B says:

    Lindell and Carolyn,

    Congratulations on your first bluebird fledgling family of 2013! When I saw the title of this post in my inbox, I was afraid someone had gotten to the babies, but after reading this, my heart has slowed down a bit now and I’m soooo happy for Daddy & Momma 2. 🙂 I’ve passed along links to your blog to other bird lovers, your photos and love of the bluebirds is good for my soul. Thank you.

    Rose Marie B

  2. lindell dillon says:

    Thanks for your kind remarks.

  3. pamcolander says:

    Congrats on a successful fledge, especially with those pesky sparrows hanging around. The parents are good ones! Do you think they will have a second batch?

  4. I always find it so amazing that they just fly. Having no experience they jump out on to the air and their wings just carry them. Your pictures are so amazing, thank you for sharing one of the great miracles.

  5. Velva says:

    How exciting! Will mama begin to build a new nest or are they done for the season?

    I have 3 bluebird babies ( so excited). I have taken your lead and each morning I place a few meal worms near the nest. Finally, saw the papa bird take a couple for himself and brought a couple back to the nest. The cardinals like meal worm too, and hey do not hesitate to take a few too.

    I had no idea how noisy bluebird babies could be when the parents were coming in to feed them.

    Velva

  6. lindell dillon says:

    The adult bluebirds didn’t show up for a couple of days after the babies fledged, but have been here early morning the past two days for mealworms. I expect when the babies can fly stronger, they will accompany Mama and Daddy. We are leaving in the morning for a few days, hopefully we will get to see the babies in the yard when we return.

Leave a Reply

