Bluebird autumn

IMG_0231 copyThere is not a lot to report on our backyard bluebirds after they raise their last brood of the season.  We were gone to Colorado for a month, so the birds didn’t get their daily mealworms.  I hoped they would still be around when we returned.  This pair has only been with me this season, so I wasn’t sure how well they are bonded to this site.

Daddy on his recent visit. Click to enlarge.

We were home a few days before I saw the bluebirds.  Daddy showed up in the backyard with four juveniles.  I assume all from their last brood.  They left without feeding.  A few days passed before they appeared again.  I placed some mealworms out and both the adult birds  fed.  When a young male attempted to get a worm, Daddy chased him away.  I never place worms out until the birds appear or the resident mockingbird will eat them.

Hopefully they will continue to visit the yard daily.  We sure enjoy seeing them and knowing that they are OK.  A Cooper’s Hawk was sitting in the backyard the other day, so life on  the red dirt hill is not without danger.

The Monarch migration is on and the back yard has been full of butterflies.  The bluebirds IMG_0204 copynever prey on them, they prefer smaller insects.  And Monarchs have an alkaloid from their caterpillars feeding on milkweed that makes them distasteful to birds.

See more of my nature photos on my flickrstream at http://www.flickr.com/photos/reddirtpics/

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bluebird autumn

  1. Margaret says:

    Thanks for the update. Beautiful images and interesting information about the alkaloid.in the Monarch.

  2. Kimberly Roulet says:

    Glad you found the Bluebirds doing well.

  3. Linda says:

    I am new at this! Our bluebirds have shown back up at the nest box. They were going in and out of it and we worried that they were nesting. I checked the box. It was empty! I’m not sure why they are doing this. I have stopped feeding mealworms. We have not feed them since the first of August. We are wondering if they will try and winter here in Wichita Kansas. We would love some advice. We just love the bluebirds and we have at least 6 hanging around.

    • lindell dillon says:

      It’s normal for a pair to check out their nest box even when it’s not breeding season. I’m not sure if they will stay in Wichita or move south. We have many more bluebirds in Central OK in winter. Mostly small flocks from up north. I doubt a few mealworms will influence their migration one way or another, but it sure bonds them to the nest site. I feed year round, not enough that the birds are dependent on my handouts. Just a tasty snack they can count on every day. In really cold weather, I’ll put out extra.

Leave a Reply

