Quandary …

IMG_6892_tonemappedI enjoy my bluebirds immensely and feel compelled to keep a record of them.  That is how this blog was born, but when I look at how many people read it I wonder if it’s worth the effort.  I realize there are a few passionate bluebird aficianados who enjoy it immensely.

Right now I’m thinking there will be a post to record each brood and keep a running total on the total fledges from this nest site, but fewer day to day posts.

 

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Quandary …

  1. Dori. Schneider says:

    I have enjoyed your posts for several years and share your passion for bluebirds. Thank you for all your posts and record keeping. Here in central kansas I find the gilbertson box most like by our bluebirds. Only once did I make a sparrow spooker when our very first bluebirds arrived 4 years ago and built their nest in a lowered Martin house. I read everything I could on bluebirds so they would return.
    Thanks again, for sharing your bluebird stories with us! Dori

  2. Cindy hall says:

    I always enjoy your post !

  3. Julia Phelps says:

    Mr. Dillon,
    I enjoy your posts! As an amateur birder and nature lover, I do appreciate reading about your ups and downs with these blue birds.
    I only have one box here in north GA, and have had successful Chickadee broods!! The bluebirds check it out, hang a round..then get beat out by the Chickadees. Placement maybe? It is rural here and all birds have many natural choices…..food and shelter, though I do provide for them and my own enjoyment.

    • lindell dillon says:

      You might try adding a couple of additional boxes. Normally chickadees and wrens nest closer to brush than BB’s. Put the other two in a more open place. Maybe this will work.

  4. Donna says:

    Thank you for educating us on bluebirds. While I may not leave a comment ….ever….I enjoy your information and photos. In our Kansas farmyard we have many bluebirds…I am watching the second brood of the season. I first started seeing bluebirds In the garden on top of my tomato cages. With a new box and mealworms, a couple is now starting their new family in our yard. They are a special gift of God’s goodness. Thank you for sharing all your knowledge with us.

  5. Juliana Michael says:

    I know that your efforts are appreciated. I often forward to fiends and family and we all enjoy the updates.

  6. Thanks for all that you do…I enjoy this blog and the beautiful pictures so much and have learned about what to anticipate with my blue birds even though we are in Virginia. I thought about you today when I saw my bluebirds over at the neighbors huge lawn-they nest with me and then take the broods elsewhere! I envy that yours stay close to the feeder. Perhaps more people read than you think? But please do what is comfortable for you-we will enjoy any posts!

  7. Helen says:

    I really enjoy your post,thank you so much for your share.

  8. Margaret says:

    It is hard work maintaining a blog. I really enjoy yours, but if your enthusiasm for posting regularly is waning, maybe keep a record of events and just provide snippets of information from time to time. Thank you for the photos and information you’ve provided until now.

  9. Hi lindell, I read your post and looks forward to when you post 🙂 I am also a Bluebird watcher and also build bluebird houses. I sure hope you continue to post, your pictures are great 🙂

    Did you see my post on Bluebirds building their second nest?
    Michael
    http://michaelswoodcraft.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/bluebirds-building-nest/

  10. Michelle says:

    I just found your blog and it reads like my backyard! This is the first year I was fortunate enough to have Bluebirds nest in my yard. The first clutch had 5 eggs and from I can see only two survived after leaving the nest (one was found dead on day of fledging) and mom just laid her fourth egg this morning!

  11. Michelle says:

    Please don’t stop posting! I love your blog! It was my inspiration to hang a bluebird box several years ago, and now, 6 or 7 broods later I have not looked back once!

  12. Laura Hermann says:

    I love your blog and Flickr photos. Keep it up is you can. I know it is a lot of work, but we all learn from this, too.

Leave a Reply

