2014 Round three … (updated 7/08/14)

bluebirdAfter two broods this summer, Mama is ready for round three.  She started a third nest a couple of days ago and already has  it pretty much completed.  Looks like it still needs a little lining, but it’s ready for eggs.

Click photos to enlarge.

In Oklahoma heat is often a problem for third and fourth nesting attempts.  This summer is much milder and wetter than the past couple.  More rain means more bugs, but I guess bugs aren’t really a problem on the reddirt hill since I supplement mealworms for the bluebird family.  I have my box mounted to a piece of 3/4-inch electrical conduit that I slide over a slightly smaller piece of steel rebar driven into the ground.  This makes it easy to move the box if necessary.  I keep it in the afternoon shade of a small Live Oak tree, adjusting the position as the sun moves north and south during the breeding season.  There are some commercial sun sun shields available or one built.  Heat can be a killer of both eggs and babies.

If we allow 13 days for incubation, this clutch should hatch on 17 July.  We will be in Sedona, AZ  when these eggs hatch.  So photos may be a bit late.

Total bluebirds fledged from this nest site since 2009 is 55.

2014 Third brood summary

  • Nest building iniated                                   26 June
  • Nest completed                                             29 June
  • First egg                                                          30 June
  • Second egg                                                     01 July
  • Third egg                                                        02 July
  • Fourth egg                                                      03 July
  • Incubation begins                                         04 July
About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2014 Round three … (updated 7/08/14)

  1. Jo Ann Wilkinson says:

    Here in Chicago suburbs, just had my first nest of 5 fledged. Second nest is almost complete. I was disappointed that my Tree Swallows who were incubating in another nest were killed. Removed nest and baby yesterday. Both houses have baffles. Must have been another bird.
    Do you think they will nest again?
    By the way, that nest also had ants. Good remedy: Terro ant bait put on ends of Q-tips and taped to bottom of house. Works great.

  2. Third nest, that’s great and 5 fledges from the same box, that’s a lot. I have not been counting the number of fledges, I guess I should. I have a lot of boxes up but the one box that I watch all the time, they are also starting their 3rd brood. 🙂 I would love to see pic of your birdhouse!

  3. lucky! This season the couple using my nest box seemed young-perhaps juveniles from last year. The babies hatched and feathers were well on their way when Mom disappeared. Dad and I got them fledged-Dad been around and brought a female to the box but so far no nest.

  4. Juliana Michael says:

    I am going to have to wander on over to your patio so I can enjoy seeing them!

  5. jpinok3 says:

    I hope you and Mama keep up the good work. I love bluebirds, so the more the merrier!

  6. Jo Ann Wilkinson says:

    My bluebirds have started their second nest here in Chicago suburbs. First one fledged 5 babies.
    Last week saw 4 eggs already.
    Keeping my fingers crossed!
    Jo Ann Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

