Ready for brood two …

tornadoes 010I haven’t seen much of the bluebirds since their first brood fledged on 22 April.  Daddy has been around a little, but haven’t seen any of the fledglings following him.   That worries me since we have had a lot of hail and thunderstorms.  Makes me wonder if the fledglings survived.  My roof didn’t.  Another rain-wrapped tornado and super cell passed just north of the house. The entire formation in the photo was rotating counter-clockwise.  We dodged the bullet again, but many Oklahomans weren’t so lucky and lost their homes. We continue to have unprecedented rain and flooding. I suspect the bluebirds share my sentiments that enough is enough.

Yesterday the birds were in the back yard most of the day.  They were in and out of the box bluebirds 003a lot.  It rained and blew most of the afternoon and Mama and Daddy sought shelter on the ceiling fan of the patio.  A good place to ride out a hailstorm. I didn’t really see any serious nestbuilding from Mama, but caught Daddy carrying this piece of grass out of the box.  I’m not sure what is up with this behavior.  I’ve never seen a male bluebird participate in the construction of a nest, but they always peer inside as if t0 inspect the work every time the female brings in new grass.  Occasionally I will see one carry out a piece of grass. If the weather improves, I suspect Mama will soon be building her second nest of the season.  While posting, I just looked out and the bluebirds are again seeking shelter from the rain on the ceiling fan.  Visit my flickr photostream https://www.flickr.com/photos/reddirtpics/

bluebirds 012Click photos to enlarge.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, Oklahoma, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready for brood two …

  1. Margaret says:

    Terrifying weather you’re experiencing, but an amazing photograph of the challenges you face. It certainly doesn’t look good for the first brood. I hope your beloved pair are able successful second time around.

  2. roughrustics says:

    Our first brood just fledged recently as well, and I’ve seen the parents in and out of the nestbox today, but no fledglings nearby. We haven’t had bad weather recently, so I hope they are just out of sight nearby.

Leave a Reply

