I think Daddy is back …

bluebirds 043A few weeks ago I had a male bluebird in the yard I thought might be Daddy, but it’s pretty difficult to tell one bluebird from another.  Today we had four males and one female bluebird in the yard.  One was obviously with the female, as they were chattering back and forth and wingwaving.

The dominant male landed on the nextbox and showed it to the young looking female.  When one of the other males attempted to land on the box, the mated male I believe to be Daddy drove it from the yard.  I suspect that the other young males are some of Daddy’s offspring from earlier in the year.

I went out on the patio and the three males flew away, but Daddy and the female remained bluebirds 012in the yard.  He flew down to a yard ash tray I used to feed mealworms.  I don’t think another bird would associate this with food or have any interest in it.  The male was obviously showing the nestbox to the female.  He landed on it, then looked inside and went inside.  All the time chortling to the female.  The female also went inside the box. They spent almost an hour in the yard.  I hope I’m not premature in identifying this bird as Daddy, but I’m fairly confident.  Hopefully they stay around this winter and nest in the spring… and there will be many more entries in the Bluebird Diary.   Keep your fingers crossed.

About lindell dillon

Lindell Dillon is retired and lives in Norman, OK. He grew up in Duncan, attended Cameron College and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. His interests include photography, nature, birding, and investing. Oklahoma Master Naturalist, alumnus Norman Police Department Citizens Academy.
This entry was posted in Birding, Bluebirds, Nature, nature photography, Oklahoma, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I think Daddy is back …

  1. Jo Ann Wilkinson says:

    It’s so nice to hear they’re around!
    I’m sure you are exactly correct about the one being Daddy. Makes sense seeing him looking for the food.
    I was able to watch.my first brood on my TV with the birdhouse cam that my sons gave me for Christmas. What a treat!
    I am thinking of leaving my other bird houses up for the winter for shelter from these Chicago winters.
    What do you think?
    Thanks,
    Jo Ann

    • lindell dillon says:

      I would expect that your Chicago bluebirds migrate south to spend winters. We have a lot of northern birds in the Oklahoma Cross Timbers in winter. The Eastern bluebirds here don’t migrate and hang round the box all winter. Occasionally they will use it to roost during an ice storm. I don’t see any reason to take them down. But if I saw sparrows using them, I’d plug the entrance until the bluebirds return. Glad you got to enjoy your camera.

  2. DIANNE ALGER says:

    I’ve ALWAYS REMOVED THE BOX AFTER THE LAST BROOD OF THE SUMMER WHEN TEMPS REACH OVER 100. SHOULD I BE LEAVING IT UP FOR WINTER? SHOULD I PUT IT UP NOW? I’M IN HOUSTON, TX

    • lindell dillon says:

      I don’t know why you would take down a box in the South. They can attract bluebirds any time of the year. I would be sure that during the hot summer, the box is in the shade. I have mine mounted on a piece of electrical conduit that I place over a piece of slightly smaller steel re-bar driven into the ground. It’s easy to move it to keep it in the shade of a small Live Oak as the sun moves north and then back south during the summer.

  3. Margaret says:

    Everything points to it being he. Will they leave your area during winter?

Leave a Reply

